Online Eitaikyo Sangha Memorial Service and Distinguished Sangha Service Award Service – “Where have you been?” – November 14, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Please join us online for our sixth special service of the year, Eitaikyo Sangha Memorial Service on Sunday, November 14, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. Rev. Satoshi Kaʻimipono Tomioka will share the Dharma Message “Where have you been?” We will live-stream the service via our Puna Hongwanji Facebook and YouTube pages.

Eitaikyo is a contraction of the more formal term, Ei-tai-dokkyo. Ei means eternal. Tai means generations. Dokkyo means chanting of Sutra. The meaning of Eitaikyo is to eternally chant the sutras for generations and generations to come so that we can listen to the teachings of Amida Buddha. Eitaikyo is also called Sangha Memorial Service.

Eitaikyo is a time to remember our past members who made contributions to our Puna Hongwanji. Puna Hongwanji is a gift from our ancestors who found refuge, hope, and spiritual guidance since 1902. Eitaikyo is the opportunity and occasion for all to come together and reflect and reaffirm our dedication to the Sangha in mutual support of this precious gift through remembering our loved ones. This service is dedicated to the memory of those beloved family members who have passed away. We also show our gratitude for past members who made great contributions to Puna Hongwanji.

During the Eitaikyo Sangha Memorial Special Service we will honor four of our sangha members for the Distinguished Sangha Service Award. Family and friends please join us online as we honor these members who have made great contributions to our temple and serves as role models to our members.

In 2021 we will honor and recognize: Ms. Nancy Yamada; Mrs. Satsuyo “Sats” Taira; Mr. Donald Shintaku; and Mrs. Jean Tanaka.

We have recognized the following members in previous years: 2017 Honorees: Mr. Kazumasa Okamoto; Ms. Hatsume Tanaka; Mrs. Kiyoko Imada; and Mr. Stanley Oishi. 2018 Honorees: Mr. Earl Mukai; Mrs. Dora Hashimoto; Ms. Helen Yamada; and Mrs. Lei Kakugawa and the late Mr. Sadaichi Kakugawa. 2019 Honorees: Mrs. Masako Sanehira; Mrs. Mieko Nagao, Mrs. Yuki Uchida, and Mr. Mitsuo Miyatake. 2020 Honorees: Mrs. Kiyo Sumi; Mr. Roy Toma; and Mr. Glenn Watarida.

Please join us in thanking these members for their contribution to help sustain Puna Hongwanji Buddhist Temple. Namo Amida Butsu ~ 南無阿弥陀仏 ~ なもあみだぶつ ~ 🙏🙏🙏 ~ Guided and inspired by All-Embracing Compassion and All-Inclusive Wisdom.